BREAKING GIST: Cristiano Ronaldo Wins Fifth Ballon D’Or

Cristiano Ronaldo has been named the best player in the world by France Football for the fifth time.

Lionel Messi finished second in the 2017 Ballon d’Or voting and Ronaldo has now joined his great rival on five wins apiece. No other player has won the award more than three times.

Ronaldo’s triumph follows a particularly successful 2016/2017 season at club level as Madrid won four trophies for the first time in their illustrious history.

The 32-year-old was named Man of the Match in the Champions League final after scoring twice to lead his side to a 4-1 win over Juventus. In all, the Portuguese has scored 48 goals in 54 appearances for Real Madrid in 2017, while adding another seven goals for his country.

The award will come as vindication for Ronaldo, who has faced criticism recently that his record-breaking production is starting to dip. However, the international journalists who vote for the Ballon d’Or determined that the Madrid star remains the best player in the world of football.

Ronaldo has only two goals so far in LaLiga this season but on Wednesday he became the first player ever to score in all six games of the Champions League group stages. With both Ronaldo and Messi now on the other side of 30 years old, many have wondered if we are approaching the end of the era of the duo’s domination. But the evidence suggests that we may still have several years left to enjoy their work.

Here is the full list from the voting:

1. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2. Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
3. Neymar (PSG)
4. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
5. Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
6. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
7. Kylian Mbappé (PSG)
8. N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea)
9. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
10. Harry Kane (Tottenham)
11. Edinson Cavani (PSG)
12. Isco (Real Madrid)
13. Luis Suárez (Barcelona)
14. Kevin de Bruyne (Man City)
15. Paulo Dybala (Juventus)
16. Marcelo (Real Madrid)
17. Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
18. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
19. Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
20. David De Gea (Man United)
21. Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan), Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)
23. Sadio Mané (Liverpool)
24. Radamel Falcao (Monaco)
25. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
26. Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)
27. Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich)
28. Edin Dzeko (Roma)
29. Dries Mertens (Napoli), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)

Short URL:Gossipy Generating...

There are no comments

Add yours